It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

The UK...First to go under?

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jan, 21 2009 @ 12:00 PM
link   
There is much talk of the world plunging into the next Great Depression and particular focus has centred on the US crisis. As a UK resident I obviously pay close attention to the UK’s economic news but I also try to keep abreast of the situation in America. I have always assumed that the US would be first to fall and that the rest of the world would follow.

Recently however I have begun to reconsider this view. A country such as the UK might be the first to fall for numerous reasons. Now I hear there is talk of the UK losing its triple A credit rating. I believe Gordon Brown may be better than some other world leaders at hiding the true economic picture, and the UK may be heading for bankruptcy.

The article below details some of the problems us Brits are facing right now. Thoughts???

www.thisismoney.co.uk...

posted on Jan, 21 2009 @ 12:12 PM
link   
reply to post by MrBacon

My thoughts are that you better damn well hope that if the UK does lose their credit rating and start to crumble, some other nation doesn't do to your country what Brown did to Iceland just a few months ago. What goes around comes around, you see.

posted on Jan, 21 2009 @ 12:13 PM
link   
its very possible, but with the way our economy is set up globally

if UK falls we all fall, chain reaction, and it will be swift, perhaps within a week

lets hope we are all wrong about this lol

posted on Jan, 21 2009 @ 12:15 PM
link   
reply to post by burdman30ott6

Yes, we used terrorism laws for that one!!! I'm sure we have a few more enemies around the globe now.

posted on Jan, 21 2009 @ 12:18 PM
link   
reply to post by muzzleflash