Originally posted by betweenmelansyd
found the same guy in that UVA ad in this link? How do you tell if it's fake or not? Is this site part of marketing to, can't tell which way is up?
archaeologyconspiracies.com...
I can clear up this part of the mystery.
archaeologyconspiracies.com...is an IGS (in-game site) for the Alternate Reality Game used to
promote a children's book series of which I'm the author.
The story on UVA is heavily borrowed from an article on the
“Ancient
Sumerian Biologists: Did the Sumerians know about the genetic code?” which I totally made up. Fiction, designed to be enjoyed by players of
the ARG and may I say, those who are playing at the deepest, most investigative level...
I've posted more details about this in
my newbie intro post
But basically...you smelled a rat with this site and you were right!
Mind you the photo of the clay tablets is the UVA guy's. He borrowed our story to sell some Google Ads so hopefully we can have his little picture in
exchange...
Incidentally there has been a disclaimer on that site, as we have on ALL our in-game sites, since it opened in March 2009...