It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

AGM-114 Hellfire

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Dec, 1 2004 @ 02:37 AM
link   
I was wondering why the Hellfire was never mounted on many ground attack aircraft...They seem compact enough to be carried in fairly large clusters but the AGM-65 Maverick is superior anyway...then why was the Maverick never mounted on AH-64?

IMO a Attack Helicopter would be a good platform for such weapons, but what do I know, i'm no aircraft engineer...

posted on Dec, 1 2004 @ 02:49 AM
link   
I think the Maverick is too big to be mounted on a Apache. They are huge 8 feet, 2 inches long and with a Weight From 462 pounds to 670 pounds thats way bigger then a Hellfire at about a 100 lbs and a Hellfire will kill any known tank. So even if it could mount a Maverick you get many more shots with the smaller hellfires.

"Hellfire missiles have been cleared for carriage on AH-64 Apache, AH-1W SuperCobra, MD-530 Defender, OH-58D Kiowa, SH-60/HH-60 Seahawk and UH-60A Black Hawk helicopters. In addition, integration trials have been made with the A 129 Mangusta, BO 105, Lynx and S-70 Seahawk helicopters. Other air-launched applications considered include; RAH-66 Comanche, SA 342 Gazelle, AS 532 Cougar and UH-1 helicopters and A-10, AV-8B Harrier, AC-130 Hercules, F-4 Phantom, F-5E Tiger II, F-16 Fighting Falcon, F/A-18 Hornet, Harrier and OV-10D Bronco aircraft."

Thats one good missile
[url=http://www.janes.com/defence/air_forces/news/jalw/jalw001013_1_n.shtml]http://www.janes.com/defence/air_forces/news/jalw/jalw001013_1_n.shtml[/ur l]

posted on Dec, 1 2004 @ 03:24 AM
link   
You also left out the predator. Those Al Quada guys in Africa who fot thier car toasted by one will never forget either

RQ-1 PREDATOR� HELLFIRE MISSILE TESTS �TOTALLY SUCCESSFUL�.