It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

ATS Guide to Data Confidentiality - A MUST READ

page: 3
<< 1  2   >>

join
share:

posted on Jan, 23 2012 @ 05:17 PM
link   
reply to post by badfish420

It's a samsung galaxy 10.1, australian version with nothing done to it, (wouldn't know how too change it) :-)

When I read through the vpn you suggested, it's requirements would of used up all my ram. I'm an absolute noob when it comes to anything like this and I appreciate your time. I have always had a too laid back attitude when it comes to online security... But having a mortgage and family now, definately think it's the right time to learn and keep our banking details safe!
edit on 23-1-2012 by woodnut86 because: (no reason given)

posted on Jan, 24 2012 @ 03:08 AM
link   

now got a vpn on my laptop...

but i can't view michael rivero's videos on justintv now!

posted on Jan, 24 2012 @ 10:57 AM
link   

Originally posted by whisperindave

Excellent overview! I have one question: The "shredder" Does this mean if someone tries to access the computer and does not have the password that it will immediately shred all hard-drive data? You say you wrote a shell script. Perhaps you can enlighten us on how to do this ourselves? Meanwhile thanks for the wonderful explanation of anonymity and security! This will be priceless in the coming years (should we all survive 2012) when the govt. tries again and again to track us and hack us! Viva La Revolucion!

A shredder just overwrites anything you want to delete (and ideally free hardrive space occasionally) in a non-recoverable way. It's like taking trash to the dump rather then stuffing it underneath your bed.The shell script is just a little .bat, I'd be glad to make it public or send it to you if you're interested. You just have to remember to be on your toes.