It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Help on cooking in advance and freezing.

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Apr, 24 2017 @ 12:16 PM
link   
I am going to be cooking for a my son and daughter-in-laws baby shower in July
I am a very experienced cook and cook for many parties with out any issues I have catered all my life but I never freeze anything it's all freshly made.

My issue is:
I will be away on vacation the week of
the shower which is on a Saturday and I will be getting home late Friday night.
I was planning on cooking 2 tins of Eggplant Parm and 2 tins of Chicken Marsala with mushrooms
and 2 tins baked Ziti Parm with little meatballs the weekend before the shower and freezing them (so it will only be a few days in the freezer)... does anyone have experience in doing this.
I looked up a few things on the internet but they are varied I can't get a straight answer some say bake before you freeze or DONT bake or defrost then bake or bake from frozen state.
Ugh my mind is spinning.
Does the taste suffer much from freezing? Any suggestions would help.
Thanks

posted on Apr, 24 2017 @ 12:24 PM
link   
a reply to: starlitestarbrite

The most important aspect of freezing to preserve freshness and taste is to provide as much vacuum as possible. The moist air inside the tupperware or covered dish is what contributes most.

Also freezing while still hot.

So prepare the dish, wait for it to almost cool down to room temperature, then place in ziplock bags and seal without any air bubbles.

If the dish involves chicken and Eggplant, then freeze the components separately, sauce or gravy in one bag and the chicken in another. You can slow thaw the items and mix or remix them when rewarming.

posted on Apr, 24 2017 @ 12:25 PM
link