It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Naive Big Bang Space Questions?

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Feb, 26 2010 @ 01:12 PM
link   
[atsimg]http://files.abovetopsecret.com/images/member/cbaa6b016b4e.jpg[/atsimg]

Forgive my naviety Above Top Soldiers, but I have some basic questions I need help with. Obviously I am no expert so be gentle…

[atsimg]http://files.abovetopsecret.com/images/member/fa5b2107a5e7.jpg[/atsimg]

Why can’t we just look at the edge of the universe (starting point) to figure out what happened at the big bang? Is there a visible edge?

This sorta answered it for me but confused me further at the same time.

The farthest object seen in the sky by the Hubble and Keck Telescopes is 13 billion light-years distant, and is assumed to have been created when the universe was just 750 million years old. It would take at least that long (if not longer) for the material form the theorized Big Bang to coalesce into stars and for those stars to form a rotating galaxy.

But here is the problem. We are seeing that object 13 billion light-years distant not as it is today and where it is today but as it was and where it was, 13 billion years ago, 13 billion light-years distant from earth. In other words, for this galaxy to lie 13 billion light-years away from Earth only 750 million years after the Big Bang, it would have had to travel 13 billion light years in just 750 million years' time.

That requires the galaxy in question to travel more than 17 times faster than the speed of light, a speed limit which according to the Big Bang supporters was in effect from the moment the universe was 3 seconds old.

What type of technology do we need to see this? Is it even something that can be seen or detected? What if it never happened?

Before I continue, a brief history: