It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Rooney banned from talking about religion

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Jun, 17 2010 @ 08:15 AM
link   

Rooney banned from talking about religion

www.brisbanetimes.com. au

England striker Wayne Rooney was blocked from discussing his religious beliefs by a Football Association official at the World Cup.

Rooney had offered an insight into his Catholic faith by explaining why he wears a prominent cross and rosary beads around his neck when he's not playing. He said: "I've been wearing them for about four years now and you don't usually watch training (to see them.) I obviously can't wear them in games. It's my religion."

That prompted a further question.

But Mark Whittle, the FA's head of media relations, interrupted Rooney in the off-camera briefing by saying: "We don't do religion."
(visit the link for the full news article)

[edit on 17-6-2010 by v01i0]

posted on Jun, 17 2010 @ 08:15 AM
link   
I am posting this even I know what kind of debate this may ignite. It'll be interesting to see what religious people will think about this, and on the contrary, how those against religions may find this appropriate action.

Does religion belong in football? Why Rooney couldn't talk about his views? What about freedom of speech and expression? I am bit surprised to see that if this is FA politics, howcome he can wear the cross around his neck? He can't, except when training.

-v

www.brisbanetimes.com. au
(visit the link for the full news article)

posted on Jun, 17 2010 @ 08:52 AM
link   
But if he was a Muslim it would either be applauded or would be allowed without question. Again double standards was are free to follow which ever religion we wish, idiots and civil servant wannabes at the football federation should hold their forked tounges.