It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Tapes of animal cruelty OK(Supreme court)

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Apr, 21 2010 @ 08:48 AM
link   
I know I'm not the only one who is or will be upset by this. I'm sorry I can't attach a link but it's been on the news over the last 24hrs, so you should not have a problem finding it. The supreme court ruled banning tapes showing animal cruelty would infringe on free speech. I assume things depicted on a tape would be stuff like; staged animal fights, torture, animal sacrafice, and similar sick s%^t. Now I'm not a lawyer, thank God, but what seems very odd to me is that if those acts of perversion are illegal through out the country, and I think they are every where, woulden't it be illegal to tape it?. As a legal example, to be very blunt it's illegal to have sex with a child. It's also illegal to make a tape while you do. The court would call the tape evidence. Most of of us would call the person doing that a sick bastard. I use this as an example with the animal cruelty stuff because if one's illegal, IMO the other should be to.

I am well aware that freedom of speech is one of the major foundations of our nation, and among the most any people can have. I just don't see this as a free speech issue. To me this an issue of a lack of decent behaviour. That has nothing to do with the law. I don't care. I was told decency had gone out of style. I actually think thanks to the spread of communications, and our sharing of thoughts over the years, most of us have become more empathetic of others. But if I'm wrong, we need to get decency back.

This upset me a lot because I've always had a very strong connection with animals.