It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Space travel is time travel!

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Oct, 14 2008 @ 10:35 PM
link   
My friends there is a way for humans to travel time! But it does not involve a time machine. It involves the evolving from the space age, to the space faring age were humans have the ability to travel to different planets in some sort of craft.

We all know the sun we see now is not as it is right now, but as it was 8 minutes ago. That means if we can travel the distance from the earth to the sun in a second, theoretically, we would be going backwards in time, I think. I'm still investigating this theory.

I'm not a rocket scientist but think about that for a second! If we could travel to different locations in the universe someday, it would very much be like time travel!

posted on Oct, 14 2008 @ 11:07 PM
link   
To travel from Earth to the Sun in a second, you would have to travel at a superluminal velocity - which is an apparent natural speed barrier according to modern physics.

You would need something to bend space itself in order to get there quickly, thus bypassing the physical space between. Wormholes and 'stargates' are theoretical methods of doing so.

However I feel that nothing is actually impossible in this universe, only that some things are less likely than others. This might already have been achieved by beings far more advanced than ourselves.

[edit on 14/10/08 by Evasius]

posted on Oct, 14 2008 @ 11:25 PM
link   
Neat idea but .... there's always buts. I wondered what if we could put mirrors around the sun and somehow using telescopes from mirror to mirror see into the past

-----but

the light you see through a telescope is the same light you see no matter what you use.

It'd probably be easier to see into the past then to travel there. Maybe.