It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

I was brushing up on my Arabic before shipping out .. . . .

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jan, 2 2006 @ 04:42 PM
link   
I have NO idea where to post this tidbit of information that I thought would be nice to share, but thought my friends here on BTS would enjoy this:

The Arabic word for Humanity is pronounced Insain

Which, ironically means when a person who is Arabic speaking and is learning English they find out that their word for Humanity is Crazy in English.

I wonder how that makes them feel?

Ironic, isn't it?

And, yes I am in the military. i'm a firefighter in the USAF, and will be going to a base near Baghdad in a couple of weeks.

[edit on 2-1-2006 by Esoteric Teacher]

posted on Jan, 2 2006 @ 09:08 PM
link   
ironic indeed

goodluck and come home safely esoteric

posted on Jan, 2 2006 @ 09:19 PM
link   

Originally posted by worldwatcher

goodluck and come home safely esoteric

Thank you much worldwatcher. I'm sure i'll be ok. Don't believe everything you see on the news, i sincerely think much of it is propoganda, and too much of peoples opinions, not substantiated with enough facts.

I'll be back stateside sometime in May i think, but may still have access to my beloved ATS.

BTS, ATS, & PTS

posted on Jan, 2 2006 @ 09:21 PM
link   
Cuts both ways, tho. Arabs learning English learn that their word for humanity means crazy here, but we learn that our word for crazy means humanity there.

Now for the real irony. You're a firefighter? My dad was one, too, before getting injured, and he always found it strange that when everyone else was running away from something, he would be running into it. He was saving lives, as you will be doing, but he was also nuts...Both humane and insane