It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Putin Demands Payment in Rubles for Russian Gas sold to “Unfriendly Countries”

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on Mar, 24 2022 @ 09:43 AM
link   
I was reading about this last night and thought it was interesting and wanted to bring forward for discussion. I am not an expert in this subject and wanted to hear what you all think. (This is my second attempt to post this thread; got timed out and all deleted).

Putin is wanting payment in rubles for gas instead of USD and Euros from unfriendly countries. Apparently this announcement has strengthened the Ruble.

www.bloomberg.com...

Russia plans to demand ruble payments for natural gas purchases from European nations, deepening its standoff with the west and potentially aggravating Europe’s worst energy crunch since the 1970s. Gas prices surged more 30% after President Vladimir Putin ordered the central bank to develop a mechanism to make ruble payments for natural gas within a week at a meeting with his government.

Putin’s move showed a growing willingness on both sides to use Russian energy supplies as a weapon in the struggle between Moscow and the west over the war in Ukraine. The specifics of the new arrangement weren’t immediately clear, but by demanding payments in rubles, Putin is essentially forcing European companies to directly prop up his currency after it was sent into free-fall by sanctions placed on the Russian economy. The ruble gained 7% against the dollar Wednesday, trimming its losses this year to 23%.