It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Radio Frequencies

page: 2
<< 1   >>

join
share:

posted on May, 31 2003 @ 10:35 AM
link   
I doubt that it has anything to do with aliens or nuclear war, but the chatter sounds very coded.

posted on May, 31 2003 @ 11:11 AM
link   
Before I get to the meat of my post: I am an Extra class amateur radio operator, and I have a GROL ( Genaral Radiotelephone Operators License ). FCC says I know what I'm talking about.

Your television is a Part 15 device. It complies with Title 47CFR Part 15. ( CFR: Code of Federal Regulations )This is a law that says, in essence:

1)Your gizmo is not allowed to interfere with other electronic devices regulated by other Parts of 47CFR. If your gizmo interferes with gizmos regulated by other Parts, you shut down.

2) Your gizmo must accept interference from other devices. A poor way of saying, if your gizmo picks up other signals, that is not the other guys fault. He does not have to shut down. Tough luck, Chuck.

Part 15 was passed to allow manufacturers to make inexpensive devices. If your TV was shielded against outside noise, it would have cost ~$1000 more than it did.

You have an inexpensive unshielded device near a powerful transmitter.

The signal is not likely to be Morse Code. Not used much anymore. Shipping firms use it - gives them a little privacy. Only other users are amateurs, who use it on a hobby basis.