It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Need some advice...photography

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jun, 8 2021 @ 07:51 PM
link   
I am an amateur photographer, just a hobby. But, I've done a fair amount of travelling. I spent several years working over in Asia, and I took about 2,000 rolls of film. Some of the shots are great pictures, and some suck.

Back in about '00 I had a film scanner from Canon, it scanned 35mm negatives. Trouble was it took about 5 minutes to scan a single strip of about (5) negatives, and that was at a medium resolution. It was still good, so I set out to scan all the negatives, and it was a bunch. However, then Micro-SHAFT forced upgrades on my OS, and my negative scanner was no longer supported.

In any case, a full resolution 35mm negative is about 19mb of data.

I've since upgraded to a digital SLR camera. With mass storage I capture both RAW and JPEG (large) for every shot. But, I still don't have all the original negatives from the film cameras scanned in, or anywhere even close.

I'm not a big picture framing guy, and maybe I should be, but my house would be covered with pictures (not something I want). I do, however, want to keep the good shots.

I was reading some of the scanner specs out there now, and many of them are anywhere from 1-3 minutes per negative for full resolution. I have 120,000 pictures (+/-). Even with multi-TB drives, this would take weeks, if not months, to scan, and then I'd have to pick out all the crap and delete it.

There's got to be a better way to do this!

Anyone know how?

Just an honest question.

edit on 6/8/2021 by Flyingclaydisk because: (no reason given)

posted on Jun, 8 2021 @ 08:01 PM
link   
a reply to: Flyingclaydisk

I have 120,000 pictures (+/-).