It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

The "Alternative" Music Conspiracy

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Feb, 9 2013 @ 12:09 PM
link   
I have no inside knowledge about this conspiracy. This is an observation that I felt was worth sharing. Maybe someone here with inside knowledge of the music industry can shed some light.

I am a fan of Alternative Music. It has struck me for some time that a high percentage of "Alternative" Music is actually more "Pop" than what is played on the Pop stations. What I mean by that is that the tunes are catchy, easy to listen to. Get stuck in your head.

I've also noticed over the past few years that an inordinate amount of Alternative Music shows up in commercials as well as on television shows and movies.

Here is where the conspiracy enters in, in my opinion. I believe that the music industry segregates some really great songs that would actually be quite popular into the category of "Alternative" in order to preserve their marketability for major corporations.

Because they don't play on mainstream Pop stations, corporations get to go out and pick these catchy tunes to brand their products with, before the general public has identified the songs with something else.

The "alternative" bands lose out in radio play, but gain in corporate endorsement licensing fees.

I feel that radio play today is more controlled even than it was during the scandals of the 50s. I believe that true popular choice is dead, and that by and large consumers are told what is popular, while certain really good tunes are virtually suppressed for corporate benefit.