It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Rant About the American Work Force

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Aug, 14 2012 @ 11:44 PM
link   
I am a construction project manager that has traveled this country fairly extensively working on large highway upgrade projects. I am currently working in Los Angeles on a multi-billion dollar expansion of a few freeways in Southern California.

Today, I was in a construction meeting with about 40 people in the room representing various utility and construction companies. The people at the meeting were your "go-getter" types that just wanted to get stuff done. I took a second to look around me and noticed about 30 of the people there were who I would consider an immigrant. You can tell that most of these "immigrants" have only been in the US for less than 15 years with their accents and were mostly from India and China. But, these guys are damn good at their professions and once you hear them analyze issues, you can see why they are sitting at the meeting table.

It dawned on me that this "diversity" was not specific to Los Angeles. Most places I visit across the nation are similar in that the "immigrants" were running the show for these projects. This leads to my rant.

If there was ever a real life example of how our work force and education system just are not adding up, this is it. Now, I must say that my company is very conservative. I do have to say this, most of my republican co-workers are a complete waste of paychecks. Most of them want to be a project manager not because they know what they are doing, it's more because they want to tell other people what to do and so that they can avoid having to actually work.