It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

A Message for all Australians

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Jan, 11 2012 @ 06:12 PM
link   
Hey guys, I read some news today about "Scottish Independence in 2014" and it got me thinking. When is Australia going to finally become a republic? When are we going to change our flag and national anthem?
Don't get me wrong, I'm a very proud Australian but I think that we should finally make the last move to full independence and not just be seen as a colony.

I am no expert on republics but I think the model should be a parliamentary republic where the President would have a similiar role as the GG does now. I would also want a bill or rights to be drafted as almost no Australians (myself included) really know what our basic human rights are. The Aborigines should also be recognized as the natives of Australia in the constitution.

I know many will not agree with me, so please don't howl at me, but I would also like to change the flag. I would replace it with this.
en.wikipedia.org...
To me that flag represents liberty and unity.

I would change the national anthem from our dreadful "Advance Australia Fair" to "Waltzing Matilda" however I would want the words changed but keep the tune.

I already know peoples reactions will be our soldiers died for that flag, wrong, our soldiers fought under British command. Plus the "Australian" flag wasn't official until 1954.
It is also not the "Australian" flag it is technically called the British Blue Ensign.

I can't believe that after all the British did to Australians and Aborigines we would still want them to be present on our flag and government. The British dumped us here like trash, displaced the Indigenous, and then used us as cannon-fodder in both world wars.