It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

School Principal Abused My Son!

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Dec, 2 2011 @ 12:22 AM
link   
Not one month into the school year my 11 year old son was forced to sit at his desk all lunch hour. The Principal told him that he had to finish eating all of his lunch before he could join his friends at play outside. Not only that, but she rooted through his nutricious bag lunch to see what he was eating.

Now, for one thing I have a Master's in Education and a background in social work. It is common knowledge in the field that using food a weapon or tool can be psychologically damaging to kids and can create eating disorders. In my professional opinion forcing a kid to eat by denying him play time is borderline abusive.

The clincher here is that my son is ADHD and is on a medication that curbs his appetite during the day. This was the second time that this woman tried to force my son to eat. Not only that but she did this in front of the whole class. To defend himself, my son felt compelled to explain his situation to the cow. He not only had to divulge his disability, but the fact that he is on medication to all of his classmates ( we have only lived in this area for about 6 months).

Ok, here is when it gets good....That afternoon, (before my son came home and told me this) I got a call from the teacher saying that the school was concerned that my son was not eating. She insinuated that my son had some kind of psychological problem and that he should see the school counsellor. I calmly explained his situation however I detected some disbelief from the teacher.