It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Value of US homes continues to fall

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Dec, 10 2010 @ 02:51 AM
link   

Value of US homes continues to fall

www.presstv.ir

According to the firm, losses come in more than 60 percent higher than last year's. Since the peak in 2006, US homes have lost a massive 9 trillion dollars in value through the end of 2009. This figure amounts to more than 60 percent of the US annual economic output.
(visit the link for the full news article)

posted on Dec, 10 2010 @ 02:52 AM
link   
OK, I admit I'm not good at economy so I will act the dumbest and ask the most easiest questions for those who are familiar with such ding dongs.

1. Is this GOOD or BAD? :p

2. Can people from foreign countries buy houses in US? I feel like buying one and then wait till the prices go up again?

3. How will it effect US economy if people from foreign countries buy more US homes? Will that increase the home prices?

4. How low can the prices go, before it bounces back. It has to bounce back sooner or later??

5. Can the losses ever be gained back?

Anyways, sorry if the questions sound stupid, but I really did always suck at economics.

Thanks in advance for the answers.

oz

www.presstv.ir

posted on Dec, 10 2010 @ 03:33 AM
link   
I'd say it was a pretty serious matter if you bought a house when prices were at their peak and now want/need to sell. The inflated prices benefited no-one but the banks. Instead of borrowing 70k the average family were requiring to take out loans of 200k+. Ok sell that house when prices were at their peak and cut a neat profit - but you still had to buy another one to live in....and take out another massive loan.