It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Do not be a slave to your emotions.

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Mar, 9 2010 @ 05:15 PM
link   
Good evening ATS

I thought i'd give out this message to people, due to all the fear and suffering at the moment, people seem to be getting kinda down.

Well, it's a simple message really. Don't be a slave to yourself. You are your emotions. You control them, they are a slave to you. Actually, i want to put the slave bit aside; you work equally with them.

I used to think that there were good emotions/feelings and bad ones. This is BS. Its like the force really; there isn't a good side or a dark side, just two different perceptions.

I started drawing up chains of emotions, like how the littlest thing can lead to something drastic. This is probably the simplest one:

Annoyance > Frustration > Anger > Violence > Hate

I classified anger as a negative emotion and hate. Whenever i felt angry i used to block it out, i used to tell myself that i should not feel anger. Well, i'm human, its natural. Instead of hiding from myself and blocking it out, i need to learn to work with it. I don't let my anger build up and let the rest of the chain continue, i just simply acknowledge it, and "store" it for a time when it is needed. I'll get onto that in a minute.
The two factors leading up to anger are generally external and are caused by other people/things that aren't working correctly and are generally hard to stop. Again, just acknowledge them.
Violence can save your life, so i'll get onto that in a mo, but ill only briefly cover it as it is a long story.