posted on Aug, 31 2009 @ 12:18 PM
I think it would depend on the proprietary software on your DVR. I highly doubt they would allow something like that to happen.
For example, if you cancelled your cable, your DVR would suddenly be cleared. They add firewalls like this to stop you from doing things like you're
trying to do.
Now, its different if you get your own DVR, I believe, and not one from the cable co. I know there are restrictions on my Motorola box that doesn't
allow me to move information from it.