It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Looking To Buy a New Precision Rifle

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jun, 5 2008 @ 08:39 AM
link   
Hello, ATS subscribers. I'm a new poster, but an old lurker. As of January 2008, I've been getting into firearms now that I have a salaried job to support the hobby (I graduated May 2007 with an MBA). Here's a list of my guns in order of purchase:

M1 Garand (circa 1955)
Beretta Cx4 Storm
AR-15 (LMT MRP upper, POF Gen 3 lower, Magpul PRS - no glass currently)
Ruger 10/22
Romanian PSL

I really like every one of them for their own specific application, but I'm now looking for something in the the fine art of precision shooting. A while back, my friend suggested something from Accuracy International. He also uses an R700 when we're out at the range. I've been looking at the R700 myself, but the AI looks good as well. What appeals to me so much is the MARS (the top rail most famously used on the M24 of USMC fame) that I can purchase for any 700-type rifle as well as the adjustable stock and removeable 10-round magazine. I guess what I'm asking is:

1. Should I get the R700 or the AI?
A. If I go with AI, can I put the MARS on it?
B. If I choose to go with the R700, should I just save up for an M24A-series rifle?
2. .308 or .338 Lapua? Price aside, I'm looking for the better round. Perhaps there can be a compromise (ie. easily swappable?)?

Thanks in advance.

PS I would be using this at the shooting range in my area when I'm in town. I hear there's a good 400-meter range near me.

[edit on 5-6-2008 by Valera]

posted on Jun, 5 2008 @ 08:42 AM
link   
The .308 is a nice round some swat members use in thier Rem 700.What u wanna use this gun for?

posted on Jun, 5 2008 @ 08:55 AM
link   
alienstar,