Is ATS a government funded damage control outlet/COINTELPRO?, page 1
Pages:
ATS Members have flagged this thread 1 times
Topic started on 17-2-2008 @ 12:59 PM by masonica_esoterica
I ran into an article online stating that this is indeed the fact.It is a long read, but definitely a worthwhile read.

I did a trace route on www.abovetopsecret.com... the Node Name is listed and maintained by the government. IP Address
213.206.128
213.206.129
213.206.130
Node Name
Gov-bb21-lan-14
Gov-bb22-lan-15
Gov-bb23-lan-16
Location
Langley, Virginia
MS
60
Network Used
whois.nic.mil (for military network information)

It was difficult to get the IP Address, It was spoofed and looped over 9 times. Anyway Langley, Virginia is where the CIA headquarters is. I?m more than concerned.


It also alleges that "Simon Grey" may be Christian Bailey AKA Jozefowicz and makes a case for the allegation.

This is certainly an interesting article, and one that every member of ATS should read and weigh in their own mind.


reply posted on 17-2-2008 @ 01:03 PM by SkepticOverlord
The person who used that post to create a series of errant claims about us didn't take two import factors into account:

1) The IP address presented isn't a valid IP

2) The
post mentioning this was an April Fools post on BTS... posted on April 1st.


There's a wealth of false information out there, much of it inspired by the one obviously prank post on April Fools day. It's not difficult at all to discover what is incorrect, and what is not.


[edit on 17-2-2008 by SkepticOverlord]



reply posted on 17-2-2008 @ 01:07 PM by lifestudent
reply to post by masonica_esoterica



Strange. I'm not saying it's impossible, and I have occasionally wondered about the utility of such a service to intelligence agencies. At the same time, I don't get the same results as you. It seems that the primary IP for abovetopsecret.com is 75.126.76.151. I don't seem to get any government IPs onthe tracert. I'd prefer not to post the route I do get to preserve whatever of my own privacy I have, but can you provide some more information for validation? My initial check seems to contradict your assessment. Thanks.


reply posted on 17-2-2008 @ 01:11 PM by Zaphod58
reply to post by lifestudent



As SO and I said, the only reason that that is on there is because that was posted on BTS as an April Fools Day joke that went way beyond what was planned. Someone found it and ran with it, and suddenly ATS is CIA/COINTELPRO and that's the "proof".


reply posted on 17-2-2008 @ 01:16 PM by masonica_esoterica
reply to post by lifestudent



This isn't my article or research,just something that I found of interest.The article is dated a year ago or so,so it is not beyond the realm of possibility that IP info could have changed.A real life friend of mine sent me a link to this article when I was talking to him about enjoying ATS/ reading the above network.

It certainly horrified me to read this artcicle, did you read the entire article? I know it is lengthy, but it had some interesting theories about the true identity of Simon Gray.

Lincoln group defended the planting of stories and the company has emphasised that none of them were factually incorrect. “By not speaking through the local media, the coalition would allow a vacuum for rumours and untruths perpetrated by the insurgents’ thuggery and threats,” a spokesman said. LIFE AND WORK November 28, 1975: Born Christian Jozefowicz, Kingston upon Thames

1987-94: Attends the fee-paying Royal Grammar School, Guildford

1993-94: Listed on electoral roll as Christian Jozefowicz-Seifert

1994-97: Obtains a 2:1 in economics and management from Lincoln College, Oxford. While at university, runs Linck Ltd. [Registers the domain: AboveTopSecret.com]

October 1998: Founds Linck Corporate Finance under the name of Christian Bailey. Fails to declare previous surname or other directorship

[Blank page on AboveTopSecret.com for all of 1998]

1999: Moves to America

[Launches AboveTopSecret.com Begins actively promoting the site, attracting members, creating an effective disinfo vector to use in his future sales presentations.]

2003: Co-founds Lincoln Group, now subject to investigation into planting of US military propaganda in Iraqi newspapers



reply posted on 17-2-2008 @ 04:02 PM by DINSTAAR

It certainly horrified me to read this artcicle, did you read the entire article? I know it is lengthy, but it had some interesting theories about the true identity of Simon Gray.


Link please.



How can ATS be CoIntelPro? ATS is largely user generated. Unless the majority of people who post at ATS are CIA, the content should still be somewhat valid. I am not saying that it is factual, because many issues discussed on ATS are..... uh.... conspiracy theories, but since the content is user generated, and topics (within reason) aren't censored. These theories always attract like minded people and people that object to the theory, people who challenge the theory. The discussion is generated by users, whether they be disinfo agents or students or professional people.

Who cares if the CIA runs ATS? The CIA does not censor the content I write, and the CIA cannot force me to believe what I read. In fact, the best ATS-ers are very skeptical. If the CIA were to post anything directly, it would likely get torn apart by people like me.... or someone else who likes a stimulating discussion.

Lets assume, for a moment, that the CIA or the Air Force Cyber-warfare Dept, runs and monitors ATS..... this means we must be on the right track. In fact, that would imply that they are afraid of user generated content, and seek to destroy/influence it.

Rules to live by on ATS
1. Don't believe everything you read
2. (politely) Challenge everything you hear and believe. Open Minded-ness and skepticism are not mutually exclusive.
3. Don't be rude to the people that make this site work. Obviously you enjoy being on ATS, don't ruin it
4. Anyone named DINSTAAR is a half-alien half-human transgenic clone of JFK who is employed by the CIA to spy on YOU!
5. Respect eachother
6. Don't swear
7. People that live in glass houses sink ships in the kitchen.
8. Pants.... optional(unless you have a webcam.... this is a family site.)
9. SkepticOverlord is also a half-alien half-human transgenic clone of JFK who is employed by the CIA to spy on YOU!



reply posted on 17-2-2008 @ 04:07 PM by greeneyedleo
reply to post by masonica_esoterica






It certainly horrified me to read this artcicle, did you read the entire article?



Um, you didnt link the article, so nobody can read it.



Ive only been here a few months and this topic comes up almost every week I guess if people are so paranoid, they can choose to not log on and participate


reply posted on 17-2-2008 @ 04:16 PM by Skyfloating
reply to post by DINSTAAR



We are very well aware of who you are and what you stand for. We´ve been watching you.



Pages:     ^^TOP^^



Main Stream Media Taking It To Far!!
  Posted 16 days ago with 22 member flags
Iranian Aircraft Carriers in the Gulf of Mexico
  Posted 11 days ago with 10 member flags
A few questions for those of you who hate the Confederate flag
  Posted 12 days ago with 9 member flags
Why Do You Insist On Doing This?
  Posted 4 days ago with 9 member flags
Getting off of oil.
  Posted 13 days ago with 7 member flags
***Overwhelming Debt? Here Are A Few Steps To Help!!***
  Posted 4 days ago with 7 member flags

Newest topics getting replies, in real-time:

Stop Bashing Us Military Folks.
  Rant, Posted 16 hours ago, 187 replies
Anonymous hacks CIA
  Breaking Alternative News, Posted 11 hours ago, 103 replies
Free Psychic Readings
  General Chit Chat, Posted 7 hours ago, 72 replies