It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Replicating Active directory on a member server.

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Dec, 14 2006 @ 03:44 PM
link   
Total n00be question.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I need to replicate our company's active directory on a new server and am not sure exactly where to begin. Are there any Windows components I'll need to install? Will it interrupt anything with our current Domain Controller? We have 2 as it is, but for DR purposes, we now want 3.

This is my first time and I don't want to be the guy who brings down the network. Any thaughts before I just start pointing and clicking at random? I would normally ask my manager for help, but for some reason I think I should know how to do this. Plus I don't want him to put me back on desktop support for lack of experience (I hate desktop support).

Danke

Oh, and the OS is Windows Server 2003 x64 R2.

[edit on 14-12-2006 by Rasobasi420]

posted on Dec, 14 2006 @ 08:39 PM
link   
I would suggest you spend a week on this site Experts Exchange and see what exactly needs to happen and in what order when bringing a new server into your cluster. Once you get it promoted into the server line, AD propagation will happen automatically. It would take me a year of sundays to explain all that has to happen to get it to the Promoting stage. Experts exchange is the only site i actually pay for a subscription to due to the fact it is weeeeellllll worth the price.

Good luck and happy IT'ing

posted on Dec, 14 2006 @ 09:53 PM
link   
Here is a good place to start.

A checklist from microsoft.
Additional Domain controller

You're making a new DC, right?

I remember an odd problem with DNS issues when I did this..
I'll go back and look it up, and post it here too. It had me stumped for a while.

AH, I found it already..