It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

I need some help from designers with Wordpress Experience.

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Mar, 5 2007 @ 10:18 PM
link   
Hello. I am a beginner to wordpress. I only downloaded it the other night for the first time. I did get it to work right away and I will give a description of what I did and what I want and hopefully someone can help me.

I downloaded wordpress, changed the config file and installed it like this to my website: ie 'http://www.mywebsite.com/wordpress/'

I set up my wordpress account and everything works fine.

NOW, what I would like to do is on my main index file of my website (www.mywebsite.com/index.html) I would like there to be a section that automatically updates with the name of my blog article and a link to that blog. Something like this Expample:

Recent Posts:
(Note these would be links directed to my blog)
1. I ran through the woods.
2. My Computer died today.
3. I posted on the wordpress support forum.

I wanted these links to appear and updated on their own without having to manually change the index file. It is similar to the "Active Topics" section on the front of ATS.

I am not even sure what the jargon term for this process is called. How do I do this? Can I do this? Help me please. lol.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

[edit on 5-3-2007 by zerotime]

[edit on 5-3-2007 by zerotime]

posted on Mar, 8 2007 @ 06:02 AM
link   
First, when you write a post make sure you tick the “post on front page” in the Advanced section.

Then go ->Options ->Reading

Set the number of post you want to display on the front page here.

When you see “permalink”, that’s a link to a single blog entry on it’s own page.

I hope this answers some of your questions.