It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Charlton Athletic: Please read!!!!!

page: 1

join
share:

posted on May, 8 2005 @ 08:34 AM
link   
hi, im a student at university of southampton, and iv chosen to do an essay on the ups and downs of football popularity between 1980's and mid 1990's, basically so i can concerntatre of charltons period of exile at palace and westham. therefore, i can talk about the love cafc fans have for the valley and why they will always call it home since 1992. i would like responses from those who experienced this, and those who continued to watch the games and persued the quest to get charlton back to the Valley. How it felt to be a club without a home? how the attendence figures charnged? and why we felt it so neccessary to return to the Valley?? any other relative comments would be welcome, along with links to other sites etc. thanks. Nicky - pls help!!!!

posted on May, 8 2005 @ 08:49 AM
link   
hey. i will have a look around for links etc i dont remember it to be honest hehe.. guess thats cos am in scotland

The link below shows good pictures of different era's of the pitch, one i think will be of intrest is the one when its abondoned.

Pictures of the Valley

Valley Gold Scheme

posted on May, 14 2005 @ 04:01 PM
link   
how are you getting on with this Rufus?

posted on May, 15 2005 @ 12:26 PM
link   
its ok. the pics were helpful. trying to find reasons why football decreased in popularity in the 1980s, in specific to cafc, and then why it rose agin in the 1990s....but after todays game, not really motivated too anything!!:sport-smiley-019:

TRD

posted on May, 15 2005 @ 05:17 PM
link