It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Migrating Operating System on to New Drive (assistance sought)

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Nov, 17 2017 @ 03:08 AM
link   
I am installing a new bigger SSD onto my PC. I have one already, but it is too small. I have a very complex set up of many programs that takes weeks to configure, so I am going to migrate from one drive to another as an easier (hopefully) resort. I have purchased a much bigger SSD. I am up on fitting it no probs, but it is the migration and cloning stuff I have never done before.

I am using Windows 10. I want to know which is the best software to achieve the migration of my existing hard drive. I also need to know if the software gives new instructions to the BIOS to boot from the new drive or do I have to go into BIOS myself and make the boot change?

Thanks in anticipation. I am just looking for a user friendly easy ride. I will pay for the software if I can get better. I also have a huge SATA HDD so I can make a backup image there internally to be on the safe side rather than have to use an external drive.

I get very anxious. I do everything myself, but I like to know what I am doing before I start. I have already watched and read some tutorials, but want to know how successful it is and if it does work. It is for my music PC and if it goes wrong and I have to load from scratch it ill be weeks of cussing, sweat and nervous breakdowns, lol.

Thanks in anticipation.

edit on 17-11-2017 by Revolution9 because: (no reason given)

posted on Nov, 17 2017 @ 03:21 AM
link   
I will be doing it tomorrow. I shall get back to this thread with instructions for others as it seems we are short of experience here.

posted on Nov, 17 2017 @ 03:23 AM
link   
a reply to: Revolution9

Morning Revolution9 .