It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Assault weapon Ban officially dead.

page: 3
<< 1  2   >>

join
share:

posted on Sep, 14 2004 @ 09:10 AM
link   

Originally posted by ShadowXIX
And Switzerland has more relaxed gun laws then the US and less crime then the UK or Canada whats your point?

Probably that the Swiss are proven to be mature enough to handle firearms, however this is not so is the US (as proven by statisitcs) which means guns control is needed.

posted on Sep, 14 2004 @ 03:29 PM
link   

Originally posted by rustiswordz
Im a security guard by trade and i often have to deal with needle knife carrying nuts with nothing but a radio for protrection (we arnt even allowed a baton they are illegal to carry too...)

I'll admit that I am ignorant of UK laws, but why would a person that has the position of a security officer not be allowed to even carry a "billy-stick" for self-defense?

I'm left flabergasted over the world's (even within the U.S., and our gun rights opponents) stance on firearms!

There are some security positions here, that forbid firearms, but that is a rarity.

In our public schools, (unfortunately it has gotten to the point where we need law-enforcement officers in some schools because of gang violence, not gun violence) police officers, who are armed, patrol the schools in which they are assigned to deter violence, and they are around unarmed teenagers. No big deal here.

I know that a lot of the teenagers feel a lot safer with these armed policemen present.

I had mentioned one time that I believe some of the school's staff members should be armed in the event of hostilities. I was berrated for even thinking of such "nonsense."

Just look at where we are now. Punks and gang members trying to put fear into the staff and students of larger, inner city schools.