It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Recent news on Smart Card use in U.S.

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Mar, 11 2009 @ 01:54 AM
link   
I have some personal experience, albeit many years ago, with smart card numbers. I haven't heard anything for quite some time and am new to ATS. A decent search hasn't brought me anything concerning Smart Cards in the US.

Here's my limited experience:

1) Smart Card number is 16 digits or more. I helped build a database at one point, as a low level agent for a call center. Included in the Microsoft database was a spot for Smart Card ID and a few people had one listed, most were blank.

2) A person close to me, whom I trust, used to work for Microsoft. Part of the standard security for her level was that she needed her smart card plug-in in order for her computer to be turned on.

All that I know is from years ago; I did a short search on companies I might invest in LOL (*embarrassed lol*) in order to cash in on the wave but only found one German company that I suspected might be involved in mass production.

Please provide links to Smart Card threads or let's bring up the topic! Maybe it's not even secret anymore for all I know =)

p.s. I'm aware of a few National ID card threads for Aus and UK but am mainly interested in US and specifically Microsoft involvement.

[edit on 11-3-2009 by notreallyalive]

posted on Mar, 11 2009 @ 04:54 AM
link   
Microsoft based Smart Cards have nothing to do with National ID Cards, or any other government identity cards. You are confused. Smart Cards provide user-based authentication and digital certificates. It is just an IT concept for securing Windows networks.

posted on Mar, 12 2009 @ 02:01 AM
link   

Originally posted by YourForever