It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Treasure Hunting 2 Different Ways - Coins, Old Gun and Bullet.

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Apr, 29 2018 @ 09:50 AM
link   
Hello everybody ! I'm happy to share with you my second video about metal detecting. As always, I'll ask you to help me to ID some of the finds and be part of my little adventure.

Remember to give me a "Like" and subscribe if you didn't yet. Enjoy !

posted on Apr, 29 2018 @ 10:20 AM
link   
I used a metal detector to find stuff around my house. You would be surprised of the stuff you miss if you always use the discriminator. I have a white's goldmaster myself, I picked it up at a rummage sale for forty bucks. It is not as fancy as new ones but I like it. I live in an area full of Iron ore and the diabase tools the old ones made from stone contain iron because they are made from iron containing rocks in the rock outcrops around here. The gold containing ores are hard to locate gold in because they contain crystal rock that absorbs the signal and buffers it and keeps the deeper pieces from being detected. Once they are unburied and some of the crystal is removed, then they can be detected better. Crystals actually absorb the signal and buffer it. The same goes with copper, in high copper areas the signal is everywhere, you have to discriminate it out to find more pure copper chunks.

I had the opportunity to talk to an archeologist/geologist who knew about this and how they took out the frequency range to find artifacts in detectors over twenty five years ago. If the concentration of gold is high enough or pure, then the detector will still pick them up.