It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Extremely Strange Magnetic Field uT Readings From 6am - 830am -- Tennessee (11-1-2013)

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:
+20 more 
posted on Nov, 1 2013 @ 10:42 AM
link   
Hello. I am a amateur astronomer and enjoy astrophotography as a hobby. I currently live in Tullahoma, TN and have lived here for the last 5 years. This morning I woke up at 5:30am and planned on taking a look at Mars rising before sun up. I get outside a little before 6am and did what I usually do before setting up my telescope. I got my Galaxy Tab 2 out and opened my SkyMap app so I could find out where Mars was going to pop up on the horizon.

Now I've been using two different apps to view the sky for a couple of years now. I use the Google SkyMap & SkyEye. My Google SkyMap kept spinning around and wobbling no matter what I did. This has never happened before in the years I've been using it so I figured the app had a glitch and needed an update or something. Anyways, I decided to try out my other app "SkyEye" and again...it was spinning around and acting crazy. I thought hmmm...I wonder if the sensor in my tablet is screwed up?

I turned the tablet off and on and opened my SkyEye app again and it continued to spin and wobble. Then I noticed a message I hadn't noticed or seen before that stated "Extremely Strange Magnetic Field". I thought ...well that might explain something, but I still thought something was wrong with my tablet sensor. I decided to download a magnetic field detection app that would show a reading. I didn't expect to find anything but garbage really, but ended up downloading an app called "Max Mag Detector".