It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.
Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.
Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.
TextYES Foods made from grains (and grain-like plants) that do notcontain harmful gluten, including: Corn in all forms (corn flour, corn meal, grits,etc.). Rice in all forms (white, brown, basmati and enriched rice). Also amaranth, buckwheat (kasha), Montina, millet, quinoa, teff, sorghum and soy. The following ingredients: Annatto, glucose syrup, lecithin, maltodextrin (even when it is made from wheat), oat gum, plain spices, silicon dioxide, starch, food starch and vinegar (only malt vinegar might contain gluten). Also citric, lactic and malic acids as well as sucrose, dextrose and lactose; and these baking products: arrowroot, cornstarch, guar and xanthan gums, tapioca four or starch, potato starch flour and potato starch, vanilla. The following foods: Milk, butter, margarine, real cheese, plain yogurt and vegetable oils including canola. Plain fruits, vegetables, (fresh, frozen and canned), meat, seafood, eggs, nuts, beans and legumes and flours made from them. Distilled vinegar is gluten free. (See malt vinegar under NO below). Distilled alcoholic beverages are gluten free because distillation effectively removes gluten from wheat. They are not gluten free if gluten-containing ingredients are added after distillation, but this rarely, if ever, happens. Mono and diglycerides are fats and are gluten free. Spices are gluten free. If there is no ingredient list on the container, it contains only the pure spice noted on the label. NO Wheat in all forms including spelt, kamut, triticale (a combination of wheat and rye), durum, einkorn, farina, semolina, cake flour, matzo (or matzah) and couscous. Ingredients with "wheat" in the name including wheat starch, modified wheat starch, hydrolyzed wheat protein and pregelatinized wheat protein. Buckwheat, which is gluten free, is an exception. Barley and malt, which is usually made from barley, malt syrup, malt extract, malt flavoring and malt vinegar. Rye Breaded or floured meat, poultry, seafood and vegetables. Also meat, poultry and vegetables when they have a sauce or marinade that contains gluten, such as soy and teriyaki sauces. Licorice, imitation crab meat, beer, most is fermented from barley. (Specialty gluten-free beer is available from several companies.) MAYBE Dextrin can be made from wheat, which would be noted on the label, and would not be gluten free. Flavorings are usually gluten free, but in rare instances can contain wheat or barley. By law, wheat would have to be labeled. Barley is usually called malt flavoring. In extremely rare instances, neither barley nor malt is specified in a flavoring. Modified food starch is gluten free, except when wheat is noted on the label, either as "modified wheat starch," modified starch (wheat) or if the Contains statement at the end of the ingredients list includes wheat. Oats used to be considered unsafe, but recent research has shown that a moderate amount of special pure oats is safe for most celiacs. Several companies produce oats specifically for the GF market. They are labeled gluten free. Pharmaceuticals can contain gluten, although most are gluten free. Check with the pharmaceutical company, especially if you take the medication on a continuing basis. Processed cheese (spray cheese, for example) may contain gluten. Real cheese is gluten free. Seasonings and seasoning mixes could contain gluten. Wheat will be noted on the label as required by law. Soy Sauce is usually fermented from wheat. However, some brands don't include wheat and are gluten free. Read the label to be sure. Special Cases Caramel color is almost always made from corn, but it can be made from malt syrup. However, in more than 10 years, we have not been able to find a single instance of a caramel color produced this way. Companies in North America say they use corn. You can consider caramel color GF. Hydrolyzed vegetable protein is a phrase that under federal regulation should not be used on a food label. Food processors have to identify the "vegetable." So you might read "hydrolyzed wheat protein," which would not be gluten free, or "hydrolyzed soy protein," which is gluten free.
Originally posted by WakeUpRiseUp
reply to post by diamondsmith
Do kittens have gluten?
Nah in all seriousness if people actually ate healthy and not like pigs we would see a dramatic drop in almost all diseases.. I try to eat healthy but my biggest concern is sodium.
s&f for youedit on 19-11-2011 by WakeUpRiseUp because: (no reason given)
Worst Fast Food Chicken Meal
Originally posted by MeesterB
Sometimes in this harsh world the very thing that will cheer me up at the end of the day is a filling bacon cheeseburger dinner followed by a satisfying cigarette. It isn't the best thing for me, but I see benefit in occasionally enjoying life.
Also, I eat magic beans(placebo) every morning that give me long life. We'll see who lives longer.
TextGluten is a protein found in grains including wheat, rye, oats and barley. Patients with Coeliac disease are sensitive to gluten which damages the lining of the small bowel. This damage affects the absorption of food and can lead to symptoms including weight loss, diarrhoea, iron and folic acid deficiency. A gluten free diet is the only long term treatment for Coeliac disease. Complete removal of gluten from the diet allows the gut to recover to normal over a period of time. Even small amounts of gluten are enough to prevent recovery or cause further damage. Obvious symptoms or damage may not occur at the time of consumption. It is important to include a wide variety of gluten free cereal products in a Gluten Free diet. This can be as simple as adding small amounts of soy, potato flour or rice bran to a dish. These are important sources of fibre, B group vitamins, zinc and increase the variety of the diet. Food Labelling and Gluten Foods may be gluten free either by ingredient - ie they contain only gluten free ingredients, or those foods which are labelled "gluten free". The Australian Standard of Gluten Free foods1 now requires that foods labelled as “Gluten Free” contain no detectable gluten using a sensitive assay. There are ingredients that are wheat derived but are considered gluten free because no gluten remains after processing and these wheat glucose syrup, and caramel. It is essential that all food labels be rechecked regularly since the composition may change.
Sorry man I didn't mean no harm please forgive me....just try to help!
Originally posted by CosmicEgg
reply to post by diamondsmith
What's your point? You're just putting text from the site there. Do you have any experience with food sensitivities? Or is that site the best info you have? I've lived with this my entire life. I believe my experience carries a lot more weight than that thin site does. It's damned hard to live totally gluten-free. The point I'm trying to get across to you is that medical science does not understand foods. The don't understand our bodies. They don't understand that when you have one food sensitivity, it can cause all manner of things to happen in the body that snowball into others.
Your simplistic view is not helping anyone learn about this. That site is far from comprehensive on the subject.