It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

PROOF: Some Janet Flights To Tonopah Really Going To Area 51

page: 1

join
share:

posted on May, 31 2010 @ 06:00 PM
link   
I was looking at Janet flights on FlightAware and since it doesn't recognize KXTA (Groom Lake/Area 51) as an airport but it does recognize KTNX (Tonopah Test Range), I thought I'd look for impossibly short Janet flights between McCarran (KLAS) and KTNX. According to Wikipedia, WWW is the ICAO identifier for Janet, so I typed in a random WWW flight (WWW204) and I saw several flight records. One of them was a 12 minute flight from KLAS to KTNX. Now, I'm no aviation expert, but KLAS is 150 miles from KTNX in a straight line, so the absolute slowest a 12 minute flight could manage that distance would be at an average speed of 750 mph. Again, no aviation expert I, but I'm guessing 737s don't cruise at Mach 1. It also couldn't decode the route for that particular flight and displays no flight path on the map. Here's the link to that flight record:
flightaware.com...
Now, I only looked at one. I'm guessing if I keep typing in random WWW flights, I'll find more like this. Anyway, what I'd like to know, since some of you are aviation experts, is it more likely that the arrival/departure times are wrong and that the route data got screwed up, or that KTNX wasn't really its destination?

[edit on 31-5-2010 by shmuu]
Hah! Now here's your smoking cannon right here:
flightaware.com...
Here's a screenshot of the planned vs actual flight path for WWW217, Janet flight from Palmdale to Tonopah Test Range, on May 27, 2010, 4 days ago:

It heads straight for Groom Lake instead of it's scheduled path.
Explain that?

Here's a close-up of the end of the recorded path.

I don't know about you, but that doesn't look like Tonopah Test Range to me.