It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Window 7 Advice

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Nov, 15 2009 @ 11:53 PM
link   
I just bought an HP Pavilion p6210f Desktop Computer With AMD Athlon™ II 620 Quad-Core Processor.

I've been running 32-bit XP for six years and all my software is for XP, so I'm guessing that all my old software is going to be useless, whether I bought it or downloaded it free from the internet.

This is going to be a pain in the behind, but I needed a new computer with more RAM to run a new software that I'm going to use in my volunteer work and, well, W7 is the new reality, like it or not, so it was time to bite the bullet.

Of course, I haven't even tried to set up the new machine yet and so I've been researching software compatibilities and the existence of new drivers for my peripherals.

The hardware looks good, but I'm a little worried about a lot of neat little free programs that I'm going to lose.

First, I'd like to get some feedback of the unit I bought and, secondly, I'd like some advice about switching from ancient technology to the new and also how best to preserve and transfer the data on the old machine to the new.

I'm running Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit.

If you need more info, just holler.

Yes, I know that I bought a PC, so don't hassle me about that. I have my reasons for going with MS, so nothing is going to change that.

[edit on 2009/11/16 by GradyPhilpott]

posted on Nov, 16 2009 @ 12:23 AM
link   
Actually don't toss out all that software just yet... Yes I have found a few odd things that stopped working when vista came in (I've had XP pro, then vista ultimate for a short while and several versions of 7, the beta, the RC and now 64 bit 7 ultimate)...