It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

The King James Curse...?

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Dec, 5 2008 @ 09:45 AM
link   
As I look through the recent Bibles, I notice two of my favorite books missing from them from the Bible I grew up with. So here's my question for ATS Bible experts...

With the removal of Books like Tobit and Malachi, did the Bible loose some of it's meaning? I mean you wouldn't know about John 3:16 if it was removed from your Bible. WHy would you speculate were these Books removed? Could it be that they painted the "ever forgiving" God in an ill light?

posted on Dec, 5 2008 @ 10:03 AM
link   
reply to post by Jkd Up

Thanks for the Thread OP and I will be happy to give you my opinion but by no means is it a professional one, I am just a Bible Student and no more no less.

The King James Authorized Bible has the books is does because of the Textus Receptus (received texts). This is not a Catholic or Roman doing and the council of Nicaea has no bearing in he AKJV. While I own copies of all the other Bibles and other books and some of them appear to be in line with the Bible there are reasons they weren't included.

When the Christians were dispersed under Roman rule and subsequent happenings they took with them copies of their books. When King James put together the Bible he used only the Textus Receptus and discounted the Catholic/Roman Bibles from Alexandrian ONLY texts.