It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

'Fee-harvesting' credit cards target cash-poor consumers

page: 2
<< 1   >>

join
share:

posted on Mar, 29 2008 @ 11:25 AM
link   

Now today, we see people putting their groceries and the heat bill on a credit card hoping and praying that something will change so that they will eventually be able to pay off the mounting debt against them.

The same people who refuse to make adjustments to their lifestyle, they just maintain it with credit instead. They may be putting groceries on their cards but you can bet they still have their cable tv, cell phones, vehicles and homes. All luxuries. Sell your car that is eating up $250/mo plus insurance and take public transportation.

Your not going to educate me on how these people work, I am a bill collector by trade, I deal with thousands of individuals. I understand circumstances happen. Death, Disease, Divorce. Most of it is belligerent spending, I have the monthly statements. I deal with the people we are reffering to in this thread on a daily basis. 95% of the time it is careless spending. The other 5% consists of actual hardships.

If your putting your heat bill on your credit card that should be a red flag, sell your house you cant afford it. Buy something cheaper and smaller or rent.

[edit on 29-3-2008 by BluByWho]

posted on Mar, 29 2008 @ 12:36 PM
link   
reply to post by Johnmike

Maybe a bad purchase, but nothing impulsive.

Okay then, even you yourself have fallen for marketing. I hope it ruined your life and that you accept that.

That's where the cornerstone of good parenting comes in: "No."

So you never went out and tried to get your hands on a Furby or an Elmo?

Not that that has anything to do with something huge like paying for college.