It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Lunar-tics

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jun, 6 2007 @ 02:36 AM
link   
It has been reported in British press this morning that a police officer from Sussex has offered proof that people are more aggressive, and that there is a direct link between full moons and increased violence among the populace.

Inspector Parr, from Brighton, looked at a year of crime statistics, and found a consistent and direct correlation between number of violent crimes, and full moon occurences. The statistics are very clear, the increase in incidents very sharp.

Now I'm a police officer in Oxfordshire, and can say that one of the first things I learnt in the job was to look for a full moon. If it was a full moon night shift, we always knew it would be busy, and strange! A full moon genuinely brings out strange characters and strange behaviour. When I first joined, about 2 years ago, I thought my colleagues were joking about this, but now I accept is a total truth. It is no surprise to me or my colleagues that this has been reported, we have known for years! Indeed, the word lunatic/lunacy is a derivitive of the word lunar, lunar meaning of the moon.

Interesting anyway. Why do you all think this is? What actually occurs within the human mind at a full moon?

posted on Jun, 6 2007 @ 02:47 AM
link   
Also, sorry if this is in the wrong forum, which I suspect it is. Mods feel free to move if neccasary.

posted on Jun, 6 2007 @ 03:21 AM
link