It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

SR71's removed from museums

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Apr, 18 2007 @ 08:53 PM
link   
Ok,I'm a newbie. Just love the information that gets discussed here. I live in southern california, and a friend lives near March airforce base. The SR71 on display has been removed and supposedly the one from wright patterson plus one other - can't remember where has been reactivated. The fence around the museum was removed so the palne could be trucked out after removing the outermost wing portions. I am emailing the collections mamnager at the base to see if they say anything.

I know the SR's were activtated for the gulf war but perhaps others can find out more. Supposedly there were some news reports but I couldn't find any.

Comments ???

posted on Apr, 18 2007 @ 09:29 PM
link   
I personally would want to wait for a confirmation or a source if this has happened. Also if it is just a one-sy-twosy thing, or if it is across the board. If this is true, it could just mean that refurbs are happening, or perhaps a relocation to a different museum, or a loan to different place etc.

Or even perhaps that it is security related, its possible that a sensitive aspect of the design was overlooked, the airplane was approved to be viewed in museums, and now finally the mistake was found. If this is true it would be sort of a major 'scoop' breaking news event. That is of co rse if th tory e er w ul get re o ted.

posted on Apr, 18 2007 @ 09:34 PM
link   
I can tell you that the one at Evergreen Aviation Museum in Mcminnville Oregon is still there. Not sure about the ones you are talking about, but I have seen one in an exhibit in the last week.

posted on Apr, 18 2007 @ 10:00 PM
link