It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Which THREE vegetables should I grow?

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Feb, 6 2021 @ 04:51 AM
link   
If you wanted to begin to decouple yourself from the grid, but for arbitrary reasons could only grow three vegetables, which ones would you grow and why?

For example, which would give you the greatest yield for the least effort, or could be grown the easiest by a total novice?

Which would be the most versatile for cooking, or which could be stored the longest so that you had vegetables outside of the growing season without having to go to the store?

I'm betting potatoes will show up on a lot of comments, but I don't know about the rest.

I personally only have fruit trees right now, mostly because they require almost zero effort if you're not looking to grow commercially, but have had everything from tomatoes to green beans. Mostly because of the lack of effort that it takes.

posted on Feb, 6 2021 @ 05:02 AM
link   
a reply to: AaarghZombies

Well I would say in the UK you need all four.

Tory's are worse than sprouts they will lie and act all green but eat there lies and the smell will haunt you, still some are good for the soil.

Labour, to keep these from giving you a bad stomach you need to add some Liberal Democrats to the patch and to top it off some Green's, remember though just as with any harvest that is doomed from the start after the election head for the bunker.

Alright sorry I could not resist (I thought WHAT NO POLITICS).

Potatoes are a great high energy carbohydrate rich food, there are so many variety's that you will be sure to find some tasty kinds that will like the soil of your particular patch and the climate conditions were you live.

Carrots are a nice addition as well and onion's.