It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Naming Missions

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on May, 6 2020 @ 11:38 PM
link   
As a former military officer, I use to put some effort into naming missions. The purpose; so that all engaged understand with a couple words what was the focus with clarity. Very simple, direct and on target. With that being said look at these two:

1. Mid Term Review
2. Crossfire Hurricane

Now which one looks like something one would not want to be on the receiving end of. The first one sounds like some college study binder pizza party. The second one sounds like gun trucks loaded with 50 cals, support attack helicopters and the ability to call in air strikes. Just a lethal force with the intent to kill anything within a 10 mile radius without asking questions if it's right or wrong.

posted on May, 7 2020 @ 12:02 AM
link   
a reply to: Stupidsecrets

Concur. Although...
For some reason, your second mission (Crossfire Hurricane) evokes a vision of helos on the Mekong Delta with Jumpin Jack Flash blarin' - what epic was movie was that anyway? Pop culture presents opportunity for catchy mission names.

ganjoa

posted on May, 7 2020 @ 12:10 AM
link   
Long time acquaintance of mine has lengthy experience dealing with USAF contract work, mostly “white”, but some “grey-level” (and I suspect “black” as well - which he does not talk about) stuff.

Anyway, he once passed this bit of “common knowledge” down to me from his contacts in the military:

“The more fearsome and awesome the project name sounds, the more truly mundane the project really is.

So, if you’re ever tasked with working on a project called something like ‘Project: Pink Fuzzy Purring Kitten‘, Run. For. Your. F*****g. Life!”

In perverse way, it kind of made sense.