It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Help installing something in Linux Mint

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Sep, 4 2015 @ 03:44 PM
link   
Hi guys, so I've installed the newest version of Linux Mint last night. Long story short, I'm a complete noob when it comes to Linux, and I need help installing and setting something up.
I'm using a Logitech G510s keyboard, and I want to install something called g15tools, which will allow me to use the macro keys on my keyboard, as well as set the keyboard lighting. I've downloaded the libg15-1.2.7.tar.bz file, but beyond that, I have no idea what I'm doing.
Can anyone show me how to get this thing running, keeping in mind that I've never actually used Linux operating systems before?
Feel free to pm me if you want, any help is appreciated.

posted on Sep, 4 2015 @ 03:47 PM
link   

posted on Sep, 4 2015 @ 03:49 PM
link   
a reply to: trollz

You have to use the cmd line to navigate to the directory that the file is in and tar -xvf libg15-1.2.7.tar.bz.
That'll unzip it so you can install the file.

There's more to it than that. Try Googling "How can I untar a tar.bz file".

Good luck.

posted on Sep, 4 2015 @ 04:19 PM
link   
Generally its not hard, theres now a bunch of installers who'll take care of the pain pretty much but its best to look at what there is and spend a bit of time getting used to linux as if you're not used to a command prompt sort of thing entering what can seem like gibberish can be a shock which can make sorting out problems even more scary

posted on Sep, 4 2015 @ 09:32 PM
link   
a reply to: trollz

There is a program in your applications menu called Synaptic Package Installer.

It will do the work for you.

posted on Sep, 4 2015 @ 11:40 PM
link