It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Contractors, how do you generate leads?

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Sep, 2 2014 @ 07:41 PM
link   
So I'm a flooring installer of all kinds. I literally walk onto commercial sites and find out who the gc is and see if we can bid on jobs.

I have been to every flooring store within an hour with a portfolio and business cards and I do get jobs here and there from the stores because we sand and finish hardwood and. No one else does.

Outside of that what's so e tricks for generating more leads for jobs?

posted on Sep, 2 2014 @ 07:52 PM
link   
There is no trick. Tricks are for scam artists.
Do good work at a fair price and you will get a reputation. Bad reps are hard to lose so dont screw people.
Also try to get in with large contractors, they tend to overbook themselves and need sub contractors to keep their schedules.

posted on Sep, 2 2014 @ 07:59 PM
link   
I feel your pain. Dont know where you live but there should be a list of general contractors who use subs. Mine is in our city planning office. I sent out letters asking to be included in their bidding process, some replied and allowed me to bid while others did not. I found that great work & work ethic and word of mouth can bring in the business. One thing I did was singage, plenty of signage.

There's a sign in every yard of every home Ive worked in..from N.C. to Texas. I actually give the home owner a discount for allowing the sign. It amazes me how much this helps out. I would say at least a 1/3 of my business comes from my signs and word of mouth. The other two thirds come from many a many night up late doing take offs and pricing then submitting my bid or proposal and keeping the fingers crossed.