It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Question about safe operating temperature for my laptop's CPU

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jul, 16 2014 @ 02:01 PM
link   
I have a Sony Vaio laptop, it's a couple years old and it has the Intel Core i5-3210M processor, integrated Intel HD4000 graphics, 6gb of ram, running Windows 7 64-bit. I'm relatively new to the world of PC gaming, and after being blown away by what this modest machine can handle I've been trying out a few more "system intensive" games. I noticed that the air being blown out by the fan felt pretty hot, so I decided to grab a program to monitor the actual temperatures of my system.

After a quick bit of research I found a program called HWinfo, it seems to fit my needs pretty well at this point. So I opened the "Sensor Status" tab, reset all the values, and my CPU runs right around 51°C during normal use (surfing the web, watching movies, listening to music, general stuff like that). I let the log run while I played a game for a bit, to get an idea of what the temperatures really were.

At maximum the CPU was reaching 88°C, but according to this the maximum operating temperature is 105°C. I know 88°C is significantly cooler that 105°C, but is this a temperature that is safe to subject my machine to for extended periods? I haven't experienced any sort of lag or anything that would indicate too much of a workload, but I would much rather be safe than sorry in this case.

posted on Jul, 16 2014 @ 02:17 PM
link   
a reply to: ChaosComplex

Laptops do tend to run hot under stress but if it gets too hot it should shut itself down , try keeping it in a position where it can get airflow underneath.

posted on Jul, 16 2014 @ 02:24 PM
link   

Min/Max values for temperature are only guidelines.