It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Crocodiles.

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Feb, 11 2014 @ 09:23 PM
link   
I have no idea why but recently I've become interested in crocodiles. I did some checking and evidently the saltwater croc was close to extinction in the 70's due to poaching. Think about that - they survive 200 million years through everything the earth can throw at them and humans come along and take them out. I'm speaking of the Australian saltwater specifically.

Now some in Australia are asking that hunting be brought back due to deaths such as this one.

Recent death in The Northern Territory in Australia of a child, aged 12. He and 4 others were swimming and while two of the other boys were bitten, one is missing. What seems odd to me (and I'm no expert) is that the entire group of boys were attacked. Not just one.

www.abc.net.au...

From 2013 -

After the last fatality in August, calls for crocodile culling are once again resounding through the community. “The time for dithering and pandering to the radical green element is over. We need urgent action,” says Queensland Senator Ian MacDonald in response to increasing reports of crocodiles trespassing into coastal communities, including a 5-m monster seen sunning itself on a riverbank behind a primary school. Those calls are being seconded by ranchers in northern Australia who say they are losing more stock to crocodiles every year.

world.time.com...