It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

windowx 7 black screen after computer logo

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jan, 20 2014 @ 03:51 PM
link   
Hello ATS,
this is my first post. I am a nursing student and rely heavily on my computer. About 1 1/2 months ago, while attempting to print a holiday card, everything started to move slowly. Left clicking took forever. I got an error message saying something about nedding to reboot. So I did. Upon restarting, I first got the safe mode option, but that didnt work. The screen went black. Now when atempting to start thecomputer, the Acer logo shows, then the screen goes black, with a small, white (looks like an underscore) on the top left corner. I dont have miney for a new laptop. Any ideas?
Help me ATS. You're my only hope.

posted on Jan, 20 2014 @ 04:08 PM
link   
reply to post by wilkinsonus

I would try a couple of things first.
1) Remove and re-seat the RAM memory (usually accessible at the bottom of the laptop).

2) Remove and re-seat the Hard Drive (usually accessible at the bottom of the laptop).

3) If the above does not work, do you have a repair DVD? If so, use it.

4) As a last option, I would recommend a full format and re-install of the Windows OS.

***EDIT***
A fifth option would be to go with a beginner's Linux Distro (Linux Mint is a good one, and it's free).
edit on 1/20/2014 by ProfessorChaos because: edit to add

posted on Jan, 20 2014 @ 04:12 PM
link   
reply to post by ProfessorChaos

Thank you for the ideas. Ill try those first and report back.

posted on Jan, 20 2014 @ 04:14 PM
link   

Also, which model Acer is it?

posted on Jan, 20 2014 @ 04:20 PM
link