It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.


Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.


Iraqi Political Parties and Political Leaders

page: 1

log in


posted on Nov, 20 2004 @ 06:22 PM
I don’t know if this list is still up to date I put it together because I heard a few people say they did not know who the Political parties and the leaders of Iraq are, so here is my attempt if there are more please add them.


Iraqi political parties:

The Iraqi Baath Party - Socialist political party of both Syria and Iraq.

Iraqi National Accord - The group of military and security officers who had defected from Iraq.

Iraqi National Congress or INC - The Iraqi political party which aims for representative government in Iraq.

Kurdistan Democratic Party & Patriotic Union of Kurdistan - The Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP) and the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK).

Supreme Council for the Islamic Revolution in Iraq - The Iraqi Shia political party headed by Ayatollah Mohamad Baqir Al Hakim.

Other Iraqi Political Parties

Iraqi Political Leaders:

Ayatollah Mohammed Bakr al-Hakim - The leader of the Supreme Council for the Islamic Revolution in Iraq.

Sharif Ali bin al-Hussein - Leader of the Constitutional Monarchy Movement (CMM).

Massoud Barzani - Leader of the Kurdish democratic Party (KDP).

Ahmed Chalabi or Ahmad Chalabi or Ahmad al-Jalabi - Leader of the Iraqi National Congress.

Jalal Talabani - Founder and Secretary Gen. of the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan PUK).

Iyad Allawi - Interim Prime Minister of Iraq, elected unanimously to the position in May 2004.

More Iraqi Political Leaders


log in