It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Coding noob here

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Jan, 7 2014 @ 12:32 PM
link   
I'm new to coding, and coding from an editor. I started with a graphical design program. Now i have a layout i like.

I have a few questions.

1) Css is a basic site template to store layout info? template.css, style.css, menu.css?

2) Php is a server side scripting language, it handles requests marked up in html?

3) My server side script should have a configurable section for DB queries and connect to db info?
(Username) (Password) (Localhost) of the DB?

4) I have two sets of css files. One in /htdocs/style and another in /htdocs/pcss. Whats the difference?

I cant post a link to my site due to TOS.

I'm pretty sure i cant post my code either.

I really want to learn this stuff.

Just picked up a couple servers and want to cluster them and host my site. That's for another day.
I'm proficient with hardware and networking. I need to get this next step down pat.

Calling all members and mods alike. I want to get a foot in the door.

I will be forever grateful to those who steer me right and true.

posted on Jan, 7 2014 @ 12:49 PM
link   
reply to post by shaneslaughta

If it helps? I generally use visual design interfaces, but it's impossible to avoid coding entirely so occasionally.. lol..

With that in mind? I think of it this way. HTML shows stuff. PHP actually DOES stuff. CSS determines what the stuff looks like for color, shape and design interaction with everything else.

posted on Jan, 7 2014 @ 12:58 PM
link   
reply to post by Wrabbit2000

So Css is in effect a visual translator with the ability to route requests to the PHP code, and visually display on the client side via HTML?

Php handles the actual DB lookups and such?