It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Man vs. Woman MMA Match In Brazil Dec 20

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Dec, 19 2013 @ 11:36 AM
link   
So it's come to this. Is it the ultimate expression of feminism, equality or just plain lunacy?

On Friday Dec 20, 2013, Emerson Falcao is set to take on Juliana Velasquez in a three-round full contact MMA fight in Rio.

"Andre Pederneiras came up with the idea. He asked Team Nogueira for a female fighter and my team believes I'm ready, so I accepted the challenge. My expectations are the best. I'm well trained to get there and win. I'm used to training with man [sic] every day. I'm a professional judoka and I know the adrenaline of the competition, I know how to handle this."

Well, I think if Velasquez feels she's up for the challenge then go for it. However, a BIG however, if Pederneiras loses, well, career over. Also, this opens a huge can of worms in terms of men vs women. If this actually takes off and becomes more of a common thing in MMA fighting, then how will women perceive men in the years to come? How will men perceive athletic women? I mean, what happens to the 'moral' code of men hitting women when a woman is the aggressor?

As the rule stands, men don't hit women. Period. Doesn't matter if she smacks you, punched you, spit in your face, you suck it up and let it happen. So what happens now? What happens when a female MMA fighter breaks your nose? What happens when other women decide it's ok to take on a man? When does 'equality' draw the line? If a female boxer smashes you in the nose, what do you do now? Not that that's going to be a common occurrence. Or will it?

I can only imagine what would transpire if she kicks his ass and drunken Brazilian women in pubs feel the testosterone.
www.huffingtonpost.com... n_4463690.html