It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Why is iron the end all for stars?

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on Aug, 9 2013 @ 04:33 PM
link   
I am not a scientist or astronomer, so I saw a program on the science channel that stated that iron was the end all for stars. I understand the helium/hydrogen connection but I did not fully understand how iron of all things was the "kryptonite" for stars. Some smarter than me (there are many) please help explain. Thanks!

posted on Aug, 9 2013 @ 05:01 PM
link   
reply to post by swampcricket

I did not know either swampcricket. I found this link

Stars greater than 25 solar masses undergo a more violent end to their lives. Carbon core burning lasts for 600 years for a star of this size. Neon burning for 1 year, oxygen burning about 6 months (i.e. very fast on astronomical timescales). At 3 billion degrees, the core can fuse silicon nuclei into iron and the entire core supply is used up in one day.

An inert iron core builds up at this time where successive layers above the core consume the remaining fuel of lighter nuclei in the core. The core is about the size of the Earth, compressed to extreme densities and near the Chandrasekhar limit. The outer regions of the star have expanded to fill a volume as large as Jupiter's orbit from the Sun. Since iron does not act as a fuel, the burning stops.

The sudden stoppage of energy generation causes the core to collapse and the outer layers of the star to fall onto the core. The infalling layers collapse so fast that they `bounce' off the iron core at close to the speed of light. The rebound causes the star to explode as a supernova.

Hope that helps and hey we both learned something new today.

posted on Aug, 9 2013 @ 05:12 PM
link