It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.
Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.
Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.
Originally posted by ChaoticOrder
This is hardly a secret... the exact same thing happens with PC's. When you move a file to the trash bin and then empty the trash bin the file doesn't actually get deleted from your HDD, the operating system just frees up the space used by that file so that other data can be written on top of it. Until data is actually written over the old data, it's extremely easy to recover that old data. That's why a good erasing tool will write random data over the top of the old data, with several passes to be safe.edit on 30/6/2013 by ChaoticOrder because: (no reason given)
Originally posted by Kokatsi
I recenty got my first smart phone. OK, now it keeps on synchronizing everything you want on the web. People I haven't heard about for years suddenly appear as ghosts...
I suggest you keep a "bogus profile" with a "phoney birth date" etc. if have the time - for these guys, definitely.
The rest of them will know.