It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Electronics Conspiracy - Techno geeks ?

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on May, 22 2013 @ 06:02 PM
link   
Okay, just warning folks in advance; this is a conspiracy which will likely only be of interest to techno geeks and electronics but may be of interest to others as well

As I've noted previously, I work in the electronics field with some pretty advanced systems. Virtually all of these systems require UPS power backup for power stabilization and battery back up. Consequently, we have literally hundreds if not thousands of UPS's ranging in size from 7-8kVA all the way to units in the mVA category. Because many of these systems are mission critical the UPS's are monitored via network monitoring.

Recently we've been experiencing a number of failures of network interface (NIC) cards in one specific variation of Eaton UPS's we use. The counts of failures suggests an endemic problem or manufacturing defect. Eaton, the manufacturer, of course, denies such a defect exists as this card is used in a wide range of their products. Just to give you an idea of the scale of the problem, we have roughly 50 of these specific UPS units and as of right now we have had over 35 NIC failures (just under a 75% failure rate).

When the UPS's were under warranty the manufacturer would replace them free of charge. Now, however, they are no longer under warranty and the manufacturer wants several hundred dollars each to replace them all while denying they have a latent problem.

So yesterday and today I had my technicians go out and pull all the recent failures from the field, and gather up a couple of known working units and we put them all on the bench to see if we could figure out what's going on. We found a couple interesting things: